About the Department

The Department has started its journey from June, 1969 as Department of Physics, Rishi Bankim Chandra College, Evening Section and continued up to 1984; it was then under the affiliation of University of Calcutta. After 1984 it assumes its position as Department of Physics, Rishi Bankim Chandra Evening College under the affiliation of University of Calcutta. 2008 onward this Department comes under the affiliation of West Bengal State University and continuing its journey towards excellence till date.

Course Run by the Department

CBCS General Degree Course comprising of 6 semesters under West Bengal State University. 


  • Well equipped laboratory
  • Water Purifier with cooling system for Staffs and Students
  • 02 desktop computers, 01 laptop computer, 01 colour photo printer-scanner, Internet facilities
  • LCD Projector (in seminar room)
  • Microphone with amplifier (in seminar room)

Departmental  Activities/Achievements

  • A seminar organized by the department on “Glimpses of the Legend – Stephen Hawking’s work on Black Holes and Big Bang” on 13th April, 2018. Dr. Mira Dey, Retired Professor of Department of Physics, Presidency University graced the occasion as Speaker.

Students Corner

Useful Links

Previous Year Questions

1st Year -  2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

2nd Year - 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

3rd Year - 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 , 2019

Semester I - 2018, 2019

Semester II - 2019

Semester III - 2019

Semester IV - 

Semesterf V - 

Present Faculty

Dr. Debojyoti Halder

Head of the department, Assistant Professor

Dr. Suman Paul

Visiting Professor

Prof. Abhisek Adhikari

Visiting Professor

 Support Staffs

 Sri Arabinda Sarkar

Lab. Attendant

 Sri Debojit Ghosh

Group D