Please visit for more details

About The Department

The Economics Department of the college was established in 1947 as part of the Rishi Bankim Chandra College (Evening Section) till 1984 and then continued as the Department of Economics under Rishi Bankim Chandra Evening College, affiliated to the University of Calcutta. Since 2008 the affiliation changed to the West Bengal State University and at present the department follows the syllabus and curricula of WBSU.

Courses Taught:

  • B.A./B.Sc. Honours Degree Course
  • B.A./B.Sc. General Degree Course

The Department also participates in:                      

  • B. Com. Honours Course
  • B. Com. General Course
  • M. Com. Course


  • Common class-rooms
  • Departmental cubicle in New Building
  • Departmental Library and subject-books in College Library
  • Computer access in college computer-lab EVNET
  • Internet access in College Library and EVNET
  • 2 laptops and 3 LCD-projectors

Research and Extension Activities:

Short Course – UGC-sponsored Foundation-Course on Human Rights, March 2008.

Course Coordinator: Dr. Ashok K. Kundu

Seminar – UGC-sponsored state-level seminar on “Recent Trends in Investor Behaviour of Small Investors in West Bengal”, November, 2013.

Convenor: Dr. Amit Kr. Bhandari

Departmental Publications – Peer-reviewed Journal: “Look East”

ISSN – 2231-0029, First publication – 2007

  • Edited Volume: “Microfinance, Risk-taking Behaviour and Rural Livelihood”, ISBN – 978-81-322173-1-2

Editors – Amit Kr. Bhandari, Ashok Kundu

Publisher – Springer, 2013

  • Edited Volume: “Women’s Entrepreneurship and Microfinance ”

ISSN – 978-981-10-4267-6

Editors – Chiranjib Noegi, Amit Kr. Bhandari and Sudipto Ghosh

Publisher –Springer Nature, 2017

  • Edited Volume: “Poverty, Livelihood and Environmental Issues”

ISBN No – 978-81-932912-1-4

Editors – Ashok Kundu, Amit K. Bhandari and Aparajita Dhara

Publisher – Palmview, 2016

Departmental Projects

  • UGC-sponsored Minor Research Project:

“Groundwater Market & Agricultural Development; A case study of West Bengal”

Principal Investigator: Dr. Ashok K. Kundu, 1999-2000, Rs.50.0 thousand.

  • UGC-sponsored Minor Research Project:

“Explaining Gender Inequality in Education Expenditure: An empirical analysis”

Principal Investigator: Dr. Amit K. Bhandari, 2011-2013, Rs.1.01 lakhs.

  • ICSSR-sponsored Major Research Project:

“Explaining Gender Discrimination in Education Expenditure: A rural-urban comparison”

Principal Investigator: Dr. Amit K. Bhandari, 2012-2014, Rs.4.54 lakhs

  • UGC-sponsored Minor Research Project:

“Impact of Education on Youth Employment in Rural India: A state-level analysis”

Principal Investigator: Dr. Aparajita Dhara, 2017-2019, Rs.2.10 lakhs

Eminent Visitors at Departmental Seminars

  • Ajitava Ray Chowdhury, Jadavpur University
  • Chiranjeeb Neogi, Indian Statistical University
  • Koichi Fujita, Kyoto University, Japan
  • Tashihiko Suda, Daito Bunka University, Japan
  • Debatra Kumar Dey, Bogula College
  • Jyotiprakash Basu, West Bengal State University
  • Mainak Roy, RBC College



  • Dynamic and research-oriented faculty;
  • Student-friendly department ;
  • Positive response of students to faculty guidance.


  • Poor student-strength in Honours course
  • Subject facing a low-demand among the local students who are mostly first-generation learners;
  • Knowledge of Mathematics and English required;
  • Competition from Engineering-stream after plus-two;
  • Subject not offered at school-level.
  • No designated class-room for Honours students.


  • Evening hours provides opportunity to the financially backward students to pursue income-earning activities during the day-time

Challenge –

  • To make the first generation learners from different marginal sections of the society comfortable and confident in pursuing the subject


Future Plans:

  • Conducting short-term courses on statistical software
  • Starting an Interdisciplinary research center at the department
  • Research collaboration with other institutes
  • Extending consultancy services

Present faculty

Dr. Aparajita Dhara

Head, Assistant Professor

Dr. Ashok Kumar Kundu

Associate Professor

Dr. Amit Kumar Bhandari

Assistant Professor

Prof. Babu Dhar


Useful Links

Previous Year Questions